Fixing gaps in a semi-inlet

Post your questions or seek advise regarding gunsmithing, restoration, repairs, ballistics, etc, etc.
Commercial operations or businesses may not advertise nor appear to advertise their products or services, either directly, or indirectly by a second party, except for simple reference as a source for such products or services
Fox20obsessed

Fixing gaps in a semi-inlet

Post by Fox20obsessed »

Sometimes you get a semi-inlet that was slightly over-inletted in spots upon arrival...sure acra-glas can fix that issue, but it looks ugly after finish is applied as it doesn’t match no matter how hard you try. With that said, I like to cut curls with a sharp chisel from an area that needs a lot of wood removed still and save them in a sandwich bag for this very purpose. I wanted to show a technique I have been using for a few years that involves taking said curls that will match up very well as they are taken from the same buttstock or forend piece. The pics show two curls I have “scabbed” in using tite-bond wood glue to fill a couple small gaps that were present when I received the semi inletted stock I used for my budget build sterly. Long story short, I like to find a few of the curls I have saved that will be slightly oversized when compared with the gap as they need to be re-inletted after the glue sets up. I soak the curls in water for a bit and then dampen the wood where they will be applied and then just go ahead and set them in place. As you can see in the pics I use a piece of foam cut to shape to hold the curls in place until everything sets up. On this semi inlet the two gaps that appeared after I fitted everything up were directly across the tang from one another and as such I did this over the course of two evenings. I get everything in place, wait about a half hr and then pull the foam back out and clean any excess glue that may have squeezed out using a moist q-tip. After the excess glue is removed I put the foam block back in to